This site is optimized for use with Firefox version 3.6 or higher and Internet Explorer version 7 or higher.

For an optimal user experience, please utilize a newer version of either of these browsers.

NOAA Assets
NOAA Office of Education NOAA Office of Education NOAA Homepage

 

QUICK LINKS

 

EDUCATION RESOURCES

 

 

NOAA EDUCATION ACCOMPLISHMENTS REPORT (PDF)

NOAA Assets

This list is a sampling of some outstanding resources that are easily accessible via the web. This list is not meant to be a comprehensive list of all of NOAA's assets.

Throughout NOAA’s line offices, there are a large number of assets in ocean, coastal, Great Lakes, weather and climate sciences that include protected natural areas such as marine sanctuaries and estuarine research reserves, a large fleet of ocean-going ships, buoys, weather stations, and other monitoring devices, scientists, and a rich array of web sites in which data, data products and information about the research and monitoring can be found. Additionally, we have provided a summary of NOAA programs and activities sorted by the state or territory in which they are based or focused.

Last updated: February 2, 2016

Categories of NOAA Assets

Education Resources and Programs (examples)


All NOAA: http://www.education.noaa.gov/

Bay-Watershed Education and Training (B-WET) Program: http://www.oesd.noaa.gov/BWET/
Point of Contact: Bronwen Rice, bronwen.rice@noaa.gov

Citizen Science and Crowdsourcing Resources: http://www.oesd.noaa.gov/leadership/citizen_sci.html
Point of Contact: John McLaughlin, john.mclaughlin@noaa.gov

Climate Program Office: http://www.climate.noaa.gov/education/
Point of Contact: Frank Niepold, frank.niepold@noaa.gov

Data in the Classroom: http://dataintheclassroom.noaa.gov
Point of Contact: Atziri Ibanez, Atziri.Ibanez@noaa.gov

Educational Games: http://games.noaa.gov
Point of Contact: Peg Steffen, Peg.Steffen@noaa.gov

Educational Partnership Program with Minority-Serving Institutions: http://www.epp.noaa.gov/

Long-term Monitoring Program and Experiential Training for Students (LiMPETS): http://limpetsmonitoring.org/
Point of Contact: Claire Fackler, claire.fackler@noaa.gov

National Estuarine Research Reserves System: http://www.nerrs.noaa.gov/Education.aspx
Point of Contact: Atziri Ibanez, Atziri.Ibanez@noaa.gov

National Marine Sanctuaries: http://sanctuaries.noaa.gov/education/welcome.html
Point of Contact: Claire Fackler, claire.fackler@noaa.gov

National Ocean Service: http://oceanservice.noaa.gov/education/
Point of Contact: Peg Steffen, Peg.Steffen@noaa.gov

National Weather Service Warning Coordination Meteorologists: http://www.stormready.noaa.gov/contact.htm.
Point of Contact: Faith Borden, Faith.Borden@noaa.gov

Office of Coastal Management - Pacific Islands: http://coast.noaa.gov/regions/pacific/about/
Point of Contact: Stephanie Bennett, Stephanie.Bennett@noaa.gov

Office of Ocean Exploration and Research: http://oceanexplorer.noaa.gov/edu/welcome.html

Research Labs: http://research.noaa.gov/LabsPrograms/OARLabs.aspx

Satellite and Information Service: http://www.nesdis.noaa.gov/EducationOutreach.html
Point of Contact: Nina L. Jackson, Nina.Jackson@noaa.gov

Science On a Sphere (SOS)®: http://sos.noaa.gov
Point of Contact: Beth Russell, beth.russell@noaa.gov

Sea Grant Education: http://seagrant.noaa.gov/HowWeWork/Education.aspx

Teacher At Sea: http://teacheratsea.noaa.gov/
Point of Contact: Jennifer Hammond, jennifer.hammond@noaa.gov

Weather (JetStream): http://www.srh.noaa.gov/srh/jetstream/
Point of Contact: Ron Gird, Ron.Gird@noaa.gov


Data Visualizations and Satellite Imagery


Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Lab (AOML): http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/

Environmental Visualization Program: http://www.nnvl.noaa.gov/

Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Lab (GFDL): http://www.gfdl.noaa.gov/products/vis/gallery/index.html
Visualizations of climate change models, hurricanes, and other large-scale earth dynamic processes
Geostationary-orbiting environmental satellite (GOES):http://www.goes.noaa.gov/

Global visualizations for NOAA's Science On a Sphere: http://sos.noaa.gov/Datasets/index.html

Historical Significant Environmental Events Imagery: http://www1.ncdc.noaa.gov/pub/data/images/

Pacific Marine Environmental Lab (PMEL): http://www.pmel.noaa.gov/
El Nino, Tsunamis, Underwater visualizations (hydrothermal vents, etc) in virtual reality: http://www.pmel.noaa.gov/vrml/3DViz.html


Real-time Data and Data Archives


Digital Coast: http://coast.noaa.gov/digitalcoast/

NOAA View: http://www.nnvl.noaa.gov/view/

National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI): http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/
All of NOAA's real-time data on climate

National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC): http://www.nodc.noaa.gov/
All of NOAA's real-time data on the ocean

Integrated Ocean Observing System (IOOS): http://ioos.gov/

National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC) http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/
Natural Hazards, Bathymetry and Global Relief, Space Weather and Solar Events

National Coastal Data Development Center http://www.ncddc.noaa.gov/

National Data Buoy Center: http://www.ndbc.noaa.gov/

National Snow and Ice Data Center: http://nsidc.org/

Real-time Tide, Current and Water Level Data: http://tidesonline.nos.noaa.gov/geographic.html
Tidal Predictions: http://tidesandcurrents.noaa.gov/tide_predictions.shtml

River and Stream Gauges: http://water.weather.gov/ahps/


Climate and Other Atmospheric-Related Information


Arctic Climate Change: http://www.arctic.noaa.gov/detect/

Sea Ice  http://www.arctic.noaa.gov/detect/ice-seaice.shtml
The Arctic Environment in Historical Perspective http://www.arctic.noaa.gov/aro/ipy-1/
Data and Graphics Access http://www.arctic.noaa.gov/aro/ipy-1/Data-P1.htm
Carbon Tracker (CO2 monitoring and visualization)
http://www.esrl.noaa.gov/gmd/ccgg/carbontracker/

Climate Resilience Toolkit: http://toolkit.climate.gov/

Drought Monitoring: http://www.drought.gov/drought/

General Information about NOAA's Climate Resources: http://www.noaa.gov/climate.html

Global Climate Change Indicators: http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/indicators/

Global Visualizations of Climate Models, etc for NOAA's Science On a Sphere: http://sos.noaa.gov/Datasets/index.html/

National Climate Assessment (2014):http://nca2014.globalchange.gov/

National Sea Grant Resilience Toolkit: http://seagrant.noaa.gov/WhatWeDo/ResilienceToolkit.aspx

NOAA's Climate Portal: http://www.climate.gov/

Ozone Hole Monitoring:http://www.ozonelayer.noaa.gov/data/data.htm

U.S. Climate “At a Glance”: http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/cag/


Fisheries, Ocean and Coastal- Related Information

Coral Reefs (Coral Bleaching Monitoring, Visualization and Conservation)
Coral Reef Conservation Program: http://coralreef.noaa.gov/
Reef Watch: http://coralreefwatch.noaa.gov/
Note Google Earth-ready data viz products:http://coralreefwatch.noaa.gov/satellite/ge/index.html

Digital Coast (data and imagery): https://coast.noaa.gov/dataregistry/search/collection

Fisheries Research: http://www.st.nmfs.noaa.gov/sciencecenters/index.html

Google Ocean: http://www.google.com/earth/explore/showcase/ocean.html
Much of NOAA's ocean data is now in Google ocean
Harmful Algal Bloom Monitoring (CoastWatch): http://coastwatch.noaa.gov/

Marine Debris Program: http://marinedebris.noaa.gov/

Marine Protected Areas: http://oceanservice.noaa.gov/ecosystems/mpa/

National Marine Fisheries Service: http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/

National Marine Sanctuaries: http://sanctuaries.noaa.gov/

  1. Papahanaumokuakea Marine National Monument:http://www.papahanaumokuakea.gov/
  2. Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary: http://channelislands.noaa.gov/
  3. Cordell Bank National Marine Sanctuary: http://cordellbank.noaa.gov/
  4. Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary: http://floridakeys.noaa.gov/
  5. Flower Garden Banks National Marine Sanctuary: http://flowergarden.noaa.gov/
  6. Stellwagen Bank National Marine Sanctuary: http://stellwagen.noaa.gov/
  7. Gray's Reef National Marine Sanctuary: http://graysreef.noaa.gov/
  8. Greater Farallones National Marine Sanctuary: http://farallones.noaa.gov/
  9. Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary:http://hawaiihumpbackwhale.noaa.gov/
  10. Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary: http://montereybay.noaa.gov/
  11. National Marine Sanctuary of American Samoa: http://americansamoa.noaa.gov/
  12. Monitor National Marine Sanctuary: http://monitor.noaa.gov/
  13. Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary: http://olympiccoast.noaa.gov/
  14. Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary and Underwater Preserve:http://thunderbay.noaa.gov/

National Estuarine Research Reserves: http://www.nerrs.noaa.gov/

NOAA's Fleet of Ships: http://www.moc.noaa.gov/

NOAA's State of the Coast: http://stateofthecoast.noaa.gov/

Natural Hazards Assessments Tools and Historical Information:
http://www.csc.noaa.gov/tools.html

Ocean Acidification: http://oceanacidification.noaa.gov/

Ocean Explorer: http://oceanexplorer.noaa.gov/

Oral History Database of U.S. Fisheries: http://voices.nmfs.noaa.gov/

Sea Grant: http://www.seagrant.noaa.gov/

Sea Level Rise Viewer: http://coast.noaa.gov/digitalcoast/tools/slr

 

 

Weather-Related Information


Aerial surveys following Significant High Impact U.S. Weather Events: http://storms.ngs.noaa.gov/eri_page/index.html

Current Radar Data: http://radar.weather.gov/

Current Satellite Data: http://www.weather.gov/satellite

Historical hurricane tracks and coastal population tool:
https://coast.noaa.gov/digitalcoast/tools/hurricanes/?redirect=301ocm

Hurricane Data Visualizations: http://www.gfdl.noaa.gov/visualizations-hurricanes

Hydrology: http://water.weather.gov
Includes current river stages, forecasts, past precipitation analysis, etc

National Centers for Environmental Prediction (NCEP) http://www.ncep.noaa.gov/
All of the Weather Service's major national and global monitoring and forecasting efforts viewable in one place!

National Weather Service (NWS): http://www.weather.gov

National Weather Service Local Office Contacts: http://www.stormready.noaa.gov/contact.htm

NOAA Weather-Ready Nation:http://www.nws.noaa.gov/com/weatherreadynation/

Sea Level Rise and Nuisance Flood Frequency Changes around the United States:http://tidesandcurrents.noaa.gov/publications/NOAA_Technical_Report_NOS_COOPS_073.pdf

Snow Cover Monitoring: http://www.nohrsc.noaa.gov/


Photos, Videos, and other Media


Aquarius, Underwater Habitat with Live Broadcast Capability:
http://aquarius.fiu.edu/

Encyclopedia of the National Marine Sanctuaries: http://www8.nos.noaa.gov/onms/park/

NOAA Photo Library: https://www.flickr.com/photos/noaaphotolib

National Marine Sanctuaries Media Library: https://marinelife.noaa.gov/media_lib/default.aspx

National Geodetic Survey’sAerial Surveys of the U.S. coastline: http://www.ngs.noaa.gov/web/APOS2/APOS.shtml

Okeanos Explorer -NOAA's Ship Dedicated to Ocean Exploration: http://oceanexplorer.noaa.gov/okeanos/welcome.html